Womens Pathfinder Vest

I was recently offered the chance to test the new Womens Pathfinder Vest from Twig + Tale. Of course I couldn’t pass up that opportunity! I absolutely love all the Twig + Tale patterns I already own, so had very high expectations from this new pattern. Well, I can safely say that this pattern is above all my expectations!

The pattern testing was super in depth- The testing phase went for over a month, and I made quite a few versions… which all still get worn! It was very handy having spare vests over the chilly Winter!

For my final vest I made a size ‘g’ bust, and graded to a ‘e’ waist and hips. I am 173cms/5’8 and wear an AU size 10/US 6. I didn’t add any length, though I did do a SBA.

I used some super cosy and gorgeous cashmere from The Fabric Store Online that I have been hoarding for the perfect project, and some lovely quilting cotton from my fabric stash (not sure where I originally bought that from). I also used some faux leather (Spotlight) to make the piping and toggles, and faux fur for the hood trim (also from Spotlight).

The princess seams give such a flattering shape, and I adore the curved hem- there is also a straight hem version included in the pattern if thats what you like. You can also make a more traditional rounded hood. I like feeling like a woodland fairy in my Pixie shaped hood!

This was my first time making my own leather piping- it was surprisingly easy, even with the thickness of the material. The only thing I had to really be conscious of was clipping the seam allowances before pinning, to make sure it would sit flat once sewn.

This was also my first time making toggles- I had so much fun making them! I made a template for quite a few different shapes and sizes, before I found the ‘perfect’ fit- then it was quite straight forward, if a little fiddly, to make sure they were all perfectly even with the leather cord and toggle equal on all.

I had enough cashmere left over after this project that I just couldn’t pass up the chance to make my daughter a matching Pixie vest- for hers I used some gorgeous gold flecked linen for the lining, and added a lace overlay to the pockets, back and hood. She looks so adorable in her vest!

And lastly- My lovely friend, Chelsea, was kind enough to come out to my in-laws farm and take some photos for me. She did such a good job! I love the contrast of the Canola crop and the red dirt with our light blue vests.

Thanks for taking the time to read this blog post! I really love how these vests have turned out- I’ve worn my vest so much recently!

Sarah x

 

2 thoughts on “Womens Pathfinder Vest

Leave a comment