The Ladies Avenue dress!

What can I say- except Wow!

The Ladies Avenue Dress from Sew Straight and Gather is one of those dresses you will want to make time and time again. The reason I know that is because thats what has happened to me!

During Testing I ended up making two versions, mainly due to not being able to make my mind up on which version I loved the most (lol)… and since then I have two more versions cut out ready to sew!

For my first version I made a size ‘m’ graded to a ‘s’ through the hip- I added three inches to the hem as I am quite tall (5’8″). I could probably add another two inches to have the hem brush the tops of my feet. I didn’t change the neckline at all, although I have shortened the sleeves by two inches. (Heading into Summer here, and it gets HOT)

I used a knit fabric I actually picked up from the local Op shop, which meant this dress cost me a total of $3! Yay!

The pattern comes with quite a few options- hem lengths, neckline, dropped back with or without bands, side or back slits. I didn’t add any slits for my first version, in hindsight (as the knit I used isn’t suuuuper stretchy) I should have added a side slit, to make walking a tad easier. I’m tempted to cut one side seam open a little and add a slit now. Either way, I still adore this dress.

The second version I made I made the size ‘m’ graded to an ‘s’ hip again, and I made this version with a dropped back, and no sleeves. I made this version knee length, and have worn it knee length and with the hem turned up as a mini… I really should make up my mind on which I prefer best haha!

I used Scuba Knit fabric, purchased through Spotlight (from memory, its been floating around my stash for a year or so!). This fabric works really well with the dress, it has just the right amount of stretch and is thick enough to feel like its holding in my bits. (though my ‘Sucker-in-era’ (shape wear) is still my best friend).

The Ladies avenue dress is such a versatile piece- I can see myself wearing one of my versions (and the two more I have cut ready to sew) as an easy everyday dress over Summer. I am also going to make a top length, and a Winter version with long sleeves, to wear over boots and tights. Such a fun dress with so many options!

You can purchase the Ladies Avenue Dress here.

Happy sewing!

Sarah x

Leave a comment